Let’s make a cheeseboard

Building a cheese board.

I always thought there would be one thing I would try for the first time, and poof, I would good at it. Maybe one day, I would go deep-sea fishing and wow everyone with my natural ability to reel in the biggest fish, or I would go play tennis with a friend, and my freaky Serena Williams ability would surprise them.

an elegant cheese board with blue cheese, goat cheese, gouda, nuts, and fruits

It never happened. I never found my calling in that way. That is until I put together my first cheeseboard. I’m a natural.

This isn’t very surprising, considering that I love cheese more than I love my own children. Cheese comes in so many flavors and textures. You will never get bored with it, unlike my children that seem to come in only a few flavors like needy and annoying (I’m kidding).

There isn’t a secret to building a great board either because as long as you put things on it that you like, it will be a great board.

Here’s an easy guideline for building a balanced board if you do decide you want a little more instruction:

  1. 3-5 cheeses – depending on how many people are eating (2 oz of cheese per person is perfect) We can go more into how to choose cheese later, but a good selection of hard and soft, as well as different types of milk will get you to the right place.
  2. Crackers/bread – You need something to put the cheese on.
  3. Dips – to drizzle over or to layer your cheese. Honey, hummus, Trader Joe’s garlic spread are great options.
  4. Meat – Is a nice compliment if you are into it. I’ll usually add 2 types – try salami, prosciutto or pepperoni.
  5. Fruit and/or veggie – This is a good palate cleanser. Sometimes I’ll use fresh cucumber and dried mango.
  6. Sweet treat – I love to add a little chocolate to a board or cookie.
  7. Olives/pickles – Because who doesn’t love a good pickle! Cornichons (from Trader Joes) are my favorite.

The fun thing about creating a cheese board is that you will have endless combinations. A choose your own adventure in cheese form—best of all worlds.

While I may never have the athletic ability of Serena Williams, I am delighted with my hidden superpower of cheeseboard building.

A selection of cheese, pepper jelly, nuts, and olives

Posted by

Exploring Arizona, hiking around the world, taking pictures, and eating cheese.

Leave a comment