December Friday Faves

This week is brought to you by the letters R & L. I’m all about getting out of the digital world and being in real life. Get it? R & L? Real Life! So clever. 

I have deleted my social media accounts, and with that spare time, I have started reading, writing, and exploring more, which is all very good. I have been connecting with friends over Marco Polo and writing real-life letters. I am taking daily walks with my dog and husband, and we are getting out to hike more. I have created space in my brain for my own stories instead of filling it with other people’s stories.

The pandemic and quarantine time has us feeling isolated, but as an introvert, that is my dream life. I’m living my best life for sure, but it has me questioning my online life. Where I spend my time and how much of that time is controlled by someone else. I don’t like feeling coerced to be on my phone more than I should, so bye-bye Facebook and hello this week’s Friday five.


Pozole

pozole recipe

While we were on our little road trip a couple of weeks ago, we stopped to eat in Flagstaff, where I ordered pozole. It’s not a regular in my food rotation, but it was chilly and sounded good. I couldn’t get over how good it was, so when I was hiking with my friend from Mexico, I asked her if she had a pozole recipe.

She was kind enough to send it, but I don’t read Spanish, so I had to have it interpreted by my husband, and I figured while he was translating, he might as well make it too, which he did. The soup was incredible! It might be my new favorite winter soup. 


Traveling to Japan

I know we won’t be traveling to Japan any time soon. Super sad face, but I feel so lucky to have been there nine months ago. While some people are popping out covid babies, I’m happily NOT having a baby and trying desperately to relive my Japan experience. 

Naturally, I’m sharing an NYT article because I’m all about reading real news, and here is one about How to Pretend You’re in Tokyo. I know what I’ll be doing this weekend. Sadly, it’s not soaking in an onsen but watching Japanese movies, listening to J-pop, and eating ramen should do the trick.  


Maek potter and plants

Pottery and Plants

I am making an effort to add more coziness to my home. Hygge, if you will, but I am not sure you can practice Hygge in the desert. Can you? 

Decorating isn’t my thing. Hanging pictures takes so much effort. You know how some people have the touch? I do not. My house looks like a college frat boy met a hippy mom, and they had a dirty baby. 

While in San Diego, we wandered into a cute little pottery shop called Maek. I knew if I didn’t buy anything, I would regret it. I love their work and hope to add more pieces to our collection. 
Plant by Wright in the Garden.


The New York Times

A couple of weeks ago, we started our subscription to The New York Times, and this week our first Sunday edition came in the mail.

Fresh coffee and leisurely looking over the articles full of art and ideas. Real journalism! I have a whole list of books to read and recipes to feel more informed on what’s happening globally, like the ramping up of the border wall building (sad) and how millennials are trying to crush capitalism by giving their inheritance away. 


Face-planting Santa

Santa fell down

I took this in 2018, and I still love it.

And if that didn’t make you laugh, I gift you, for this fine holiday season, kid school photo fails. You’re welcome.

Hope you enjoyed my Friday favorites. May your weekend be full of goodness and your own favorites.

Posted by

Exploring Arizona, hiking around the world, taking pictures, and eating cheese.

Leave a comment